Thriller Thursday

It’s Thriller Thursday and I have a treat for you. As promised, I will be writing about Mary Higgins Clark today. When I wrote my first novel, it was a murder mystery. I had been reading Mary Higgins Clark and I got to thinking, if Mary Higgins Clark can do it, so can I. Of course, my murder mystery is still sitting on the shelf, where as Mary Higgins Clark just finished her 51st novel. She is the “queen” of the American murder mysteries.
Her first novel, Where Are The Children, is in its seventy-fifth printing. I can understand why, it’s a really good book. In fact, of the fifty-one novels, I have read sixteen of them. Each one unique.
Today, I will be talking about my favorite MHC novel, You Belong To Me. Such a great book and very well written. She took the song, You Belong To Me and made a murder mystery surrounding the lyrics. Brilliant! There’s a murder along the Nile, on a tropic isle, in a market place in old Algier, and in a jungle when it’s wet with rain. Makes me want to dig through songs and come up with a bestselling novel. Sigh. Oh well, I may never be a Mary Higgins Clark, but I can dream.

Here is the back matter for You Belong To Me:
When psychologist Dr. Susan Chandler uses her call-in radio show to explore the issue of lonesome women who disappear and are later found to have been victims of seductive killers, she has no way of knowing she is exposing herself — and those closest to her — to the very horror she is warning others against.
After a listener calls in offering information about the mysterious disappearance from a luxury ocean liner of wealthy investment advisor Regina Clausen, the caller meets with a terrible accident. Or so say the police. As Susan begins to investigate, she quickly finds herself in a race against time — and an assassin who targets not only vulnerable women, but anyone who might offer clues to his identity. Inching closer to the truth, Susan makes shocking dual discoveries: that the killer may be an important figure in her own life, and that she herself is marked for murder.
As unpredictable as it is daring, You Belong To Me delivers a series of electrifying jolts as Mary Higgins Clark makes yet another brilliant entry in the annals of classic suspense.

Doesn’t it sound good? The sad thing is, you can’t get this book on Amazon in print. I don’t know if they have stopped printing it, or what. But there is a Kindle edition.
Remember, if you purchase a book, please leave a review. Now, go buy a Mary Higgins Clark book and bury your nose. You won’t regret it.

you belong to me
Here is a list of Mary Higgins Clark books, in case you are interested. http://www.maryhigginsclark.com/book_page.php?isbn13=9780671004545

Amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/You-Belong-Mary-Higgins-Clark-ebook/dp/B002JWD63A/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1438276466&sr=8-1&keywords=You+belong+to+me+paperback

Leave a Reply

