Dystopian Tuesday

Whoo-hoo, it’s Dystopian Tuesday! One of my favorites and I know some others, who like Dystopian as much as I do. So, let’s get started.
I like to go to Books-A-Million or the library and peruse the aisles, get a feel for what I want to read. Sure, I could sit and look on my phone or the computer, but it’s just not the same. For some time now, I have been eyeing the series called, The Selection, by Kiera Cass. I have been a little hesitant because it seems very “girly”, and by that, I mean it seems to have a whole lot of romance in it by reading the description. I’m just not a “girly” kind of girl. Of course, I might be wrong. My daughter has been wanting to read this series for some time now, but she’s in college and doesn’t have a whole lot of time to read. However, she will finish her summer semester in two weeks, so I thought we could read this series together. Please chime in, if you have read this series. I would love to know your thoughts. Just don’t reveal too much about the books. What I really want to know is did you like the books and are they worth reading?

Here is the back matter for the first book: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Sadly, the first book is not free on Kindle, but the price isn’t bad, either–$4.99, or you can order the paperback for $5.17. I will be getting the paperback for my bookshelf.
Also, check out Kiera Cass’ other books on Amazon and if you purchase a book, please leave a review.

http://www.amazon.com/Selection-Kiera-Cass-ebook/dp/B006564VQC/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1437490765&sr=1-1

The-Selection-collage

Leave a Reply

