Divergent

I finally started Divergent, yesterday. I know I’m a little late getting on that train, but I found out something cool a few years ago. I watched Ella Enchanted, before I knew there was a book and really loved that movie. Then I read the book, and boy were there huge differences. So much so, that had I read the book first, I would have hated the movie. And it’s been that way ever since. I read the books after they become movies.
When I found out that they were making Divergent into a movie, I decided to wait on reading the books, especially since there were so many mixed reviews about the movie. People were upset that it didn’t totally go by the book.
What book does, nowadays?
The first movie in the Hunger Games, pretty much went by the book, except that Peeta lost his leg in the book and they didn’t do that in the movie. Which, that part made it better for me. I didn’t know how they were going to do the whole leg amputated thing, while Peeta was running for his life.
When it came to Catching Fire, book 2, they changed stuff. Not much, but there were differences.
I will be interested to see what they do with Mockingjay part 2, since Phillip Seymour Hoffman, has passed away. Which was so sad, especially watching him play in Mockingjay part 1. His character, Plutarch Heavensbee, played a major character in the last two books and lived until the very end. My theory is they will use his assistant (who was mentioned a lot in the books) to take his place.
Back to the Divergent series.
I really like the movies, and so far, from what little I have read of the first book, Hollywood pretty much went by the book.
The way they ended the second movie Insurgent, however, left me a little perplexed. It ended like that could be the end of the Divergent movies. I literally got up scratching my head. I haven’t read book 2 yet, but I’m anxious to see how the end was written and how they will make the third book into a movie. I’m sure they will make it into two parts since I’ve heard there will be a war. Don’t quote me on that. I don’t want to give too much away because I know a lot of you haven’t seen Insurgent yet.
If any of you haven’t read the Divergent series, and would like to read it with me, that would be fantastic!
By the way, happy “Dystopian Tuesday” and Cinco De Mayo. 

http://www.amazon.com/Divergent-Veronica-Roth/dp/0062387243/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1430839385&sr=8-1&keywords=Divergent+paperback

Divergent

Leave a Reply

