May 20, 2013 Hey everyone, it’s been awhile since I have written a blog post and a lot has gone on in the last year and some months.

First off, I went with self-publishing on book 2. I know that I said that I was going to go the traditional way, but the Lord had other ideas for me. I self-published, Epidemic in the Dark Lands, with the help of my friend, Ellen C. Maze. It has been on Amazon since April of 2012. My son graduated from high school in May of 2012. This was huge for us, I guess because I’m a homeschool mom. We belong to a homeschool group called, TEACH, and have been since he was four years old. He graduated with four other students and it was probably the best graduation I have ever been to. There was live music for them to march into to, three montages: one of the group of graduates, their life montage and then one dedicated to the parents. The speaker was Judge Sterling Lacy, a very prominent figure in our area and my son gave the speech for the graduates. He spoke in front of over 200 people, which is a pretty big deal, especially for a kid. I couldn’t have been prouder. Two weeks after graduation was over, he left to go on his mission trip and was gone all summer long.

Summer of 2012 was a time of relaxation. I wanted to write on my books, but found that I just didn’t have any energy. Caleb’s senior year took it out of me. But when school started again, I began working diligently and now I almost have a completed manuscript for book three of my Prince Andy and the Misfits series, called Loombria. I only have about 10,000 more words to write. Simultaneously, I have been writing a Adult Young  novel called, Phoenix, and I have it half done. I am very excited about this novel and am planning on finding an agent. My writing has come a long way, since I wrote Shadow Man and I’m pretty confident that Phoenix will do well.

Fall came and went, so did the winter of 2012. Christmas was very quiet and so was the New Year. January of this year though, I lost my dad to a horrible disease. It was a bittersweet time. I hated to see him go, but at the same time, knew that it was for the best. He was in so much pain. I got to spend his last day alone with him. I read to him from the Bible and from one of my books. I talked to him and prayed for him. My husband, Troy, came and stayed with him for a time as well and also had prayer with my dad. We had no sooner got home, that mom called and said that he had passed away. I miss talking to my dad. He was one of the smartest men I knew. He graduated high school when he was only fifteen years old. Went to college on a full scholarship. But, he found out that he could make more money being a bulldozer operator, than being an English teacher and left school after his first year. He made a very good living for his family and taught me a lot about fixing things. One of the most important things he taught me was, never rely on others, always be self-sufficient.  He was an incredible individual and I haven’t met a person that knew my dad, that didn’t admire him. I can only hope that when my time comes, folks will think as highly of me as they did of my dad.

That brings us to the start of this summer. Caleb has finished his first year of college. He was on the Dean’s list both semesters. I am very proud of him. He worked a job, while he went to school and managed to get very good grades. He leaves in a two weeks to go on another mission trip for the summer and won’t be back until August. Randi and Haylee are finishing up their school year. I can’t believe that Randi will be a senior next year. We have already begun planning graduation, her pictures, senior trip, and what she will wear for graduation. That will just leave me with Haylee. I still have a lot of time with my youngest, (since she is only thirteen) and I’m going to make the best of our time. Life seems to be going so fast in the Gammons household. I will blink, and it will be time for Haylee to graduate and go off to college.

Well, it’s time to wrap this up and start writing on books. I hope this post finds all of my readers well and having a great day. Cheers!

3 thoughts on “

  1. Hi Karen! I enjoy reading your texts. You are a very good writer. Also nice to hear that your life has turned out well. It´s been some years since we last saw each other…

    Like

Leave a Reply

