Spring Is Almost Here

Feb. 22, 2011

Hey to everyone. I have been very busy lately and I haven’t been able to post. I finally finished my second book, Epidemic in the Dark Lands. Yea!!! Also, my family celebrated Caleb’s seventeenth birthday. I can’t believe my child is seventeen. He is just a year and a half away from going off to college. (This said with tears in my eyes.) Another thing we have been enjoying is the weather. It has been wonderful here in Texas. It’s hard to believe that just two weeks ago we had snow on the ground for the third time this year. I can’t remember us having so many snow falls. It was nice the first time around, but by the third time, I was ready to see it go. That is one of the reasons I live in the south, I don’t like cold weather.

Yesterday, I was looking at my flower beds and I have so many bulbs coming up. It’s also time to start thinking about a garden. I’m very excited about that. I do square foot gardening in boxes that are already prepared, so all I have to do is pull out some leaves, add a little dirt, stick in the seeds, water and let nature take it’s course.

Back to my second book. I have been doing research online about self publishing. A friend of mine, Ellen C. Maze, who writes the Rabbit trilogy books, told me about CreateSpace on Amazon.com. She highly recommended it. It’s cheap to publish and the return is quite a lot. The only thing would be to make my book cover. This is where it get tricky. I have been looking into making my own and I don’t know if I can do it and it come out as beautiful as my first book cover. I have found templates, but my problem would be trying to figure out what size I would need. Also, page layout. That looks complicated as well. If anyone has suggestions, I would love to have some.

Well, to all my readers, I hope you are enjoying this beautiful spring weather and that you have an awesome day.

 

One thought on “Spring Is Almost Here

  1. Hi Karen!
    Thanks for the shout-out!
    As for book covers, my daughter and I design our own, and my publisher loves them so much, she allows me to do them myself. I’d be happy to offer as much help as I can with your cover. In the end, it comes down to graphic design. My daughter is in “the business” to make covers for others, and will soon be making them for my publisher after she graduates in May. She will be charging $200 for book covers (she designed all five of mine, so there are your examples). If money is an issue (isn’t it for everyone?), we can still help with ideas and design.
    Whatever I can do!
    Hugs
    ellen

    Like

Leave a Reply

