Car Wrecks and Book Signings

Jan. 14, 2011

Hey to everyone, sorry I’m just now writing a new post.  I have been a little bit lazy. Last Thursday night, I was on my way to our homeschool meeting and book signing, when I hit a car on the interstate. There was a car in front of me and we were getting on the interstate going towards Texarkana. The traffic was terrible. I turned around to see if I could get on, when Caleb yells to me, “Mama, Mama, Mama…” I turn around in time to see the tail lights of the lady in front of me. I managed to get my car slowed down quite a bit before hitting the lady. It was my very first car wreck! Why do people stop for traffic when trying to get on the interstate? Shouldn’t you slow down and proceed on the side of the road until it’s clear? IT’S AN ON RAMP!!!!!!! After sitting in my car and making sure my children weren’t hurt, I weakly got out and went to see if she was okay. She had two little kids in the car, but they were fine. I was so shook up, I could barely talk. She called her husband and he said to call the police. You know what that means. Yes, I got the ticket. A $190.00 ticket. Did not need that! What kills me is, my car got most of the damage and her car got rubber smudge that can be buffed out. My insurance company said that she filed a claim. For what, I’m not sure. I inspected her car pretty good and there wasn’t even a scratch! (Of course, it was dark and I was crying and I could be mistaken.) My car on the other hand has a busted up bumper, my hood is bent up in a place,  my headlight no longer is pointing straight ahead and my license plate looks like it went through a trash compacter. She was a very nice lady and I felt super bad about hitting her car. I shouldn’t be complaining, it could have been a lot worse. Everyone was fine, except for being sore. Troy came up to the scene of the wreck, broken leg and all, just to check on me. Do I have a sweet husband, or what?

After that, I drove on to my book signing at the TEACH meeting. I was shaking so bad, I couldn’t even hardly sign books. What a night! Everyone had prayed for me though, which made me feel a lot better and I got lots of hugs and concern.

I have been reflecting on that night a lot. I had been in a hurry. Also, I didn’t say, “Lord protect us as we travel,” like I always do. But, you can be sure, I won’t forget anymore. Thank the Lord, we weren’t hurt very badly.

To all my readers, have a blessed and safe day!

Leave a Reply

